My AMAZING Experience

I have had such an amazing experience going through this program! You know starting off I was excited but extremely nervous about what I was getting myself into when I heard about this. However, I would have regretted my decision if I would have chosen not to sign up for this. From the moment that we started this with the kickoff, it has been an eyeopening experience. I can honestly say that there was not one meeting that didn’t have me excited or pumped to start trying things. That really melts my heart. Seeing and feeling the energy from everyone who was involved in the kickoff left me wanting me. I honestly was anxious to start.

Then we had the Teacher Coding Academy. Let me just say WOW! I loved how everything was organized. I loved that I was actually able to do activity after activity. Everyone who taught and spoke were great. That academy did more than teach me coding. It taught me how to be a good teacher. It taught me also how to be a good person. You see not once at that academy did I see a person that was helping or hosting with a frown or a bad attitude. If you know me I LOVE THAT! I LOVE ENERGY! Everyone was so patient and kind. Paul was amazing and taught me a lot and Don was an extraordinary leader. I could not have dreamed of the effect it had on me. It made me want goals I didn’t even know I wanted. Honestly, a lot of the events that happened in here had that effect on me. I must say though the best part of the whole academy were the relationships that I built. I met and became friends with some amazing people. I even established relationships with people that I didn’t really know in my own district. Then to top it all off, I learned and designed an app. WOW! It really was great. I hope to have that app design forever to show my future kids.

After that, it was time to teach the kids. Okay…now I was extremely nervous. I mean I was really excited too. Don’t get me wrong. My coworkers and I planned and prepped, but still. I just didn’t know what to expect with the kids. The kids coding academy went great though. The first day didn’t go as smooth but eventually we got on board. I can remember waiting until after the kids left to go ask my coworkers about how it went. We would reflect, discuss, and make adjustments to the next day. When school started some of the kids even told the other students that we were cool because we showed them some computer stuff. The other students were curious about doing it the next time. Overall, the kids enjoyed it and I hope that it will be a higher turnout and a blast this year.

Finally, it was time to start the school year. This was going to be an interesting journey. The school year went well. I was a little concerned at first because there was a lot to do. This was my first year of third grade and it went well. I knew that the kids were going to be testing this year, so I wanted to make sure that I did everything that I could do to help them. Then, I was also going to be integrating coding as well. I was excited about it. There were some hiccups along the way like making sure that all of the iPads had Keynote, and getting use to using Apple TV. Also, I had to try to arrange time in my schedule and look at what activities I could integrate a coding lesson into. For me that was the hardest part, I enjoyed it though. It just took a lot of preparing ahead and planning for the week that I received the iPads. Yep, scheduling among the calendar with the iPad schedule and plans was a bit tough. However, we made it work. My students were always excited when it came to coding. They were learning the vocabulary and trying new things. Some of their problem solving skills improved. While going through this school year, my colleagues and I started working on our innovation plans at first I was a little nervous about what I was going to do and how I was going to do it. Almost all of us were like we need more technology. Especially with the younger grades.

In early November we attended the Lead and Learn Conference. EPIC! This was the best moment of the entire program for me. I was in awe at what I was actually getting to witness. I was getting what felt like a once in a lifetime opportunity. When I got off that plane, I had made up in my mind. I was going to have a growth mindset and make it count. I wanted to learn everything I could. Each session was terrific. I bonded on that trip with my colleagues and made some wonderful friendships and memories for a lifetime. The keynote speakers were everything to me. Listening to each person’s message made me think about what I actually wanted in life. There was a night I went back to my room and actually said what am I doing. I had a big “A-HA” moment. I told myself that I only get one life and I need to figure out what is it that I want to do with it. I had to truly figure out what drove me and what I was truly passionate about. I didn’t have all the answers and still don’t. What I will tell you is that I had sparked something in me. I knew that this was bigger. I knew that I was going to do something. I still believe that. Personally, I was going through a lot during that time. I was dealing with a lot and that conference was a turning point in my life. I had to remind myself that I was getting the opportunity to experience something some people only dreamed of. That conference inspired me to want more. Not just for myself but also want more for my students.

In December, it was time for the innovation proposals to the school board. Boy oh boy I was so nervous. This was a huge deal. I was speaking on something that I felt so strongly about. Something I had worked on for quite some time. We waited and waited and waited. It was a very long meeting and my nerves were eating me up. Then, it was time. I proposed to the board starting another dual language program for coding in the younger grade levels. The proposal went pretty good and I was proud and excited. Looking on it now, I think that we started off great on it. However, with Covid-19 happening, we have taken a detour. I hope that I can start again next year on it and continue to make progress because the kids were understanding majority of the vocabulary. They were engaged and excited about the coding lessons. I do have a couple of adjustments I want to make in it though like shifting the focus of my students when it comes to the assignments. I definitely want the structure of the lessons to have those authentic learning opportunities. I think that we are making wonderful strides but I have a big goal in mind. I know when I get the chance to setup my classroom this year. I will be thinking more about how and what I want my environment to be like. I want to make sure that it helps contribute to the expectation of what is going to happen in that room. I want my students to succeed and I will make sure that I encourage and help them be grittier.

The other night we had our final zoom meeting with everyone from the program. These meetings have been a highlight each week. I am going to miss these meetings a lot. It was almost as if it was a sense of family. We had established a relationship, a community. It was a safe place to share, learn, and just listen to others who were going through the same experience. Our cohort lead Karen was amazing. Her sweet and fun disposition made me smile on days that were tough. The last meeting we were all so proud of everyone. It was so nice hearing all the compliments everyone was giving out to each other. It made me emotional thinking about where we started to where we are now. I couldn’t help but think about all the help, encouragement, and work that everyone contributed in this process. I want to pursue the master’s program, and I’m pretty excited. I’m still nervous as always though. I must say I am EXTREMELY grateful for this opportunity! My life has truly been blessed by this and everyone in it and I can’t wait to see what happens next. So for now, I will end with a familiar prompt…

I use to think I was going to find out more about coding through this but now I think I actually found myself.

Thank you to everyone.

Leave a comment